Leave a comment

Fashion Shopping for my Sons at Christmas

I always love this time of year but hate the crowds.  It has become a yearly tradition to buy clothes for my 3 sons who are now 20, 18 and 15.  They’ve grown up to see me transition from frumpy to functional to fashionable.  They take pride in representing themselves with their attire as they’ve grown.  I work in the technical industry where for most of the engineers, daily attire consists of a graphic T-shirt, jeans and athletic shoes.  In some cases the graphic t-shirts are just that, graphic and what I would consider not appropriate for work, or to be worn in public. I’ll save my rant on the attire of the 24% women in the office for another day.

These days my Man Children, as I like to refer to them, prefer good fitting jeans or khakis.  My high schooler still prefers basket ball shorts even when it snows but at least he’s styling a good looking Nike shirt and sweatshirt to top it off.  When better attire is required, he steps up.  Their shirt preference is now v-neck T’s, henleys and they look best in sweaters.  My oldest likes to wear his beanie and for some reason, he handsomely pulls it off.  The other two not so much and I look like a 12 year old when I try any hat.

I still recall the first time I took my oldest shopping for clothes to pick out himself.  He was in middle school.  He painfully came to the realization during a melt down in the middle of Target that the variety in Men’s shirt is pretty small:  Polos, v-necks, turtlenecks, t-shirts, button up, hoodies…. Unlike the vast variety for women, it’s just not the same.  Thankfully shortly there after I found the DC outlet and as they grew out of thrashing their clothes, Tillys.  Now with knowing their likes and dislikes, I can take care purchasing their Christmas presents in about 30 minutes.  In, find sizes, colors, boom, done.  If I could make real money shopping, I would do it.  I don’t know many people who can leave work and within less than 45 minutes be back in the office with everyone on the list taken care of.  Maybe some day!

So who do you shop for at Christmas time?  Any yearly traditions for the ones you love?  For those of you with sons or men in your life, what looks best on them and where do you find it?

Leave a Reply

